Male midwifes

Have just watched "One Born Every Minute" online as missed yesterday's episode. I love that programme, find it so fascinating! This time there was a male midwife and I thought he was fantastic and was thinking that it really should be something that men should do more. I think you have to be a certain type of person to be a midwife but I really don't see why a woman could do the job any better than a man really. Not all women who are midwifes have had children and so saying that a male midwife can't relate to the pain etc is the same as saying that all midwifes also need to have given birth.

Some people would probably find it strange to have a male midwife, poking about in your nether regions, but a lot of the doctors/consultants are male and they also deliver babies and no one finds that strange so to me it isn't really any different? Gyneacologists always seem to be men strangely enough?!

I don't think I would have minded at all if I had had a male midwife when Esme was born. Wonder what everyone else's thoughts are on it?

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0