Ikea coventry - never again!

I think I was so traumatised by my trip to Ikea in Coventry that I haven't functioned properly for the last week, hence no blogging! Ok, well perhaps that is making it slightly dramatic but it was pretty bad!

I normally go to Milton Keynes ikea which is about 50 minutes away but thought I might give Coventry a go as it is slightly closer. Never again, the time saved is def not worth it.

For starters, the shop is basically in the middle of Coventry rather than on the outskirts. This means that parking obviously comes at a premium and perhaps that is why ikea's own parking is so badly signposted? We basically ended up at the multi storey car park right next to ikea rather than their own car park. Well not such a big problem on the way there but walking up 11 flights of stairs with two children, a newborn and a trolley full of stuff was obviously not going to happen. 

Anyway, off we walked to the store, had some lunch and then walked round the upstairs bit. The store is all a bit higgledypiggledy (?!) and just not very well laid out. When we came out of the top of the store you have to get a lift to get down a level, well all the lifts we went into took us to all the floors apart from the one we wanted to go to. After asking someone they showed us to the right lift, on the other end of the store?!  

Having finished shopping and paying, the problem was then that there were two adults, two little children and one very small baby, plus a trolley full of ikea stuff, with the car in the multi storey car park round the corner, no lift and no trolleys allowed! So, I went and got the car, drove it round the corner and stopped on double yellows. Yes, yes I should obviously not stop on double yellows but by now it was raining and new born baby was getting cold! And I have to add that it was a one way road with two lanes, so people could actually get past and in to the actual ikea car park. Which most people did.

Apart from the stupid couple who stopped right behind us waiting for us to move, then shouting obscenities at us. Come on, is this the kind of people that live in Coventry?! The kind of morons who have nothing better to do than to whinge all day, probably never done a day's work and are just damnright miserable. Maybe I am generalising, the general popluation of Coventry is probably not being fairly represented by these people we came across but since I have never been to Coventry before they did not leave me with a good impression!

Anyway, I think that might be the last time I visit Coventry! Unless someone can enlighten me and tell me that I was just unlucky and Coventry is in fact a lovely place?


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0